Bookstore love

Thank you, Guardian, for pointing out this great blogpiece on Flavorwire about the world’s most beautiful bookstores.

Click here for the full list of 20 stores, but some favorites are already pasted here below, including Cook & Book in Woluwe St Pierre here in Brussels (its essentially some 8 different bookstores all mashed into one – retro restaurant, cafe, beach chairs in summer and cocktails also included).

I would equally add KramerBooks & afterwords cafe off Dupont Circle in Washington DC as well as a newer discovery on a recent weekend in the UK: the Fifteenth Century Bookshop in Lewes.

Above: Selexyz Bookstore, Maastricht, The Netherlands

Librería El Ateneo Grand Splendid, Buenos Aires, Argentina (photo via)

Cafebreria El Pendulo, Mexico City, Mexico

Shakespeare & Company, Paris, France

Cook & Book, Brussels, Belgium

 

Fifteenth Century Bookstore, Lewes, UK

4 comments
  1. Wow! Wish I could go to all of these bookstores…lovely pictures! I especially like the one in Lewes; my kind of place.

    • The one in Lewes was amazing. Run by a tiny little Frenchman – books piled everywhere and so high that you have to ask for help to get half of them down. Lewes also happens to be an adorable town and definitely worth a visit.

      • I am so there. I looked up the location of Lewes after your blog post and it’s not far from where British friends of mine live. Road trip, anyone?

  2. Tracy said:

    I loved this list too! I’m always looking for new bookstores to visit, but I’ve never come across anything like these in my travels…ahhh maybe one day!!
    I too like Kramer’s Books in DC, especially the brunch!

Leave a Reply

