Caesar salads come from Tijuana

Did you know that?? I just had one of those “whoa” moments while trying to fill the great void missing in my life: Mexican food. Let me explain myself:

Brussels is great and we’re lucky to have a ton of different restaurants (including my all time favorite Thai restaurant – Noi – which I feel deserves a post here in the near future). But there just simply isn’t a great Mexican restaurant…as far as I know…

So while on a recent trip to the UK, I snatched up this drool-worthy cook book as soon as I saw it: Thomasina Miers’ Mexican Food Made Simple. 

I’m just getting starting testing recipes now so watch this space for successes (or disasters). But I’m looking forward to making some Sweet & spicy squash & chickpea soup, Griddled langoustines with coriander & pumpkin seed mole, as well as the entire “Street Food” section. There is an entire chapter called “a taco for all seasons”. [I am drooling as I type this… time to go to the kitchen.]

The book is a follow-up to a 2011 Channel 5 TV programme. Some of Thomasina’s recipes are available online. You can click on the below photos for a few of the recipes available on the site.

The Coconut and Sea Bass Cerviche

as well as the Spicy Chicken Tinga Tacos

Oh, and the story with the Caesar salad? Thomasina teaches us that the Caesar salad was created in 1924 when one Caesar Cardini, an Italian chef, developed the recipe during a lunch rush when the kitchen was running out of ingredients. In Tijuana. And there is your pub quiz fact of the day.

Bon appetit.

Photo credits for the dishes from Blink Films from the Channel 5 site. 

2 comments
  1. Lindsay said:

    Ummm, seriously?? Well, la di da. (Y buen provecho!)

  2. Tatiana said:

    this makes me happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

