Good looking reads

The Queen’s Lover: Ever since I read Antonia Fraser’s biography of Marie Antoinette, I have been drawn to anything about the French Queen. The novel focuses on her relationship with Swedish Count Axel von Fersen and is reported to include fascinating {even gruesome} historical details on life during the French Revolution. Bonus: The Washington Post called it “highly intelligent.”

Life Among Giants: For starters, the giant mushroom on the cover of this book got my attention. Found it in fiction. Looks like a gardening book. What is going on here? Then you learn the book is about a seventeen year old, seven-foot-tall quarterback named Lizard (whose parents are mysteriously murdered) and his relationship with Sylphide, the world’s greatest ballerina, who lives across a pond from his family with her rockstar husband. UM. MUST. READ. This little narrative by the author on how he came up with the name for the book sealed the deal.

The Chaperone: A 36-year-old woman chaperones an impetuous 15-year-old Louise Brooks on her journey from Kansas to New York in 1922, before she became a famous silent movie star. Life lessons and flappers guaranteed. Hoping this will help me get over having finished Rules of Civility.

In Sunlight and in Shadow: Usually I’m a girl who likes the first sentences of books to be plot based; Something short and snappy that gets me right into the action. But this dreamy opening line caught my attention: “If you were a spirit, and could fly and alight as you wishes, and time did not bind you, and patience and love were all you knew, then you might rise to enter an open window high above the park, in the New York of almost a lifetime ago, early in November of 1947.” Sigh. Postwar New York City. Paratrooper meets Heiress love story, with some gangsters thrown in. The Chocolate Money: First off, great title. Secondly, great cover. {Thank you, judging criteria of the superficial kind.}  But stay with me, this story revolves around a chocolate heiress, Bettina Ballentyne, and her difficult relationship with a mother incapable of parenting. A coming of age novel that deals with difficult subjects despite its title, this Booklist review hooked me: “Reading this novel is like watching a train speed toward you, and you’re paralyzed on the tracks.”

Gone Girl: Because seriously, by now, who hasn’t read this book and said it terrified them but they couldn’t put it down. I feel like reading something I can’t put down. Even if it means I bite my nails in the process…

Give me ten more hours in a day and get me to a bookstore.

3 comments
  1. Jay said:

    Oh I love hearing about new books. I haven’t read any of these except Gone Girl (totally entranced in the beginning but that petered out as it continued.)

  2. boo said:

    “work less, read more”, says boo, “you’ll get more out of life that way”

  3. And that is the reason why I don’t hate living in Stockel too much: reading to and from work on tram and metro is wonderful! Thank you for adding so many more titles to my amazon wish list. The blog post and comments on Life Among Giants was fabulous-great link! I especially loved the idea of playlists for certain books that developed through the comments. Probably don’t wanna listen to the Gone Girl playlist though.

Leave a Reply

